China Town in BnW

In my last post I concentrated on the colours of Bangkok’s Chinatown, a theme that I will certainly return to in the run up to the Chinese New Year. In this post I’m focussing on the black and white images that can be developed from Chinatown. Black and White can often represent the meaning, or object, of the image without the confusion of colour. Black and white often brings a different structure to an image. This can particularly be seen in the image of Yaowarat Road (the main road running through Chinatown). The colour images that I took of the road didn’t accurately represent the busyness of the road, and the huge over-hanging shop signs. However, I think that the black and white image takes me back to the crazy, hectic, life on the road.
Fujifilm X-T1 23mm f1.4

Daniel, Bangkok, Jan 2016

Leave a comment